Classical Remote Concert – Salzach Quartet @ Karajan Music Tech Conference

Do you remember the VR Concert at SXSW in Austin?

In 2 days we are taking the remote concert to a new level! The Salzach Quartet, a famous quartet in Salzburg, will be part of a spectacular showcase at the Karajan Music Tech Conference in Salzburg, on April 13th. As you already remember from Austin, remote concert means: musicians performing together while not standing on the same stage.

The quartet will perform Mozarts Kleine Nachtmusik. The two violinists will perform at the conference venue in Mozarteum, the cello and viola players at the Eliette and Herbert von Karajan Institute. At the conference venue you will hear all four musicians and see those sitting in the Karajan Institute via livestream.

How does a remote concert work?

The sofasession technology allows the audio signal to travel in milliseconds from one location to the other. Listeners will experience the concert like any other, hearing all members of the quartet.

This new technology offers tremendous opportunities in the music field. So far you could jam online using the sofasession platform. From now on you can also include the technology in live musical performances. Are you loving it as much as we do? A new playground for all those who love music.

We’re super honored and happy to be part of this great conference! A great thanks to Matthias Röder, the CEO of the Karajan Institute for inviting us.

Remote Concert sofasession Karajan Music Tech

About the Karajan Music Tech Conference

What is happening at the conference apart from our showcase with Salzach Quartet?

To conference is dedicated to classical music and technology. Visitors can experience the next generation of music with 360-degree videos, virtual reality, and 3D sound. World-known entrepreneurs, artists, and scientists come together to tell the most recent trends and developments in classical music. Have you always wanted to meet the CEO of SONY GDA, music professors from Harvard or the president of Huawei in Europe? Then you should come, too.

If you happen to be in Salzburg, you can register for free to be part of this event:

Register here

Salzach Quartet Remote Concert
Salzach Quartet ©Salzach Quartet

About The Salzach Quartet:

The Salzach Quartet was formed through the Sandor Vegh Chamber Music Programme in the Mozarteum University, Salzburg. The members have studied with Wolfgang Redik, Bozena Angelova, Enrico Bronzi and Igor Ozim. Members of the quartet include James Dong, Neža Klinar, Bernadette Yim and Marius Malanetchi.

James Dong (bottom right) is currently studying a masters degree with Esther Hoppe at the Mozarteum University of Salzburg. In 2016, he won 1st prize at the Australian national concerto competition and 3rd prize at the Lipizer international violin competition in Italy.

Neža Klinar (bottom left) started playing the violin at the age of 7 at the “Franc Sturm” Music school in the class of prof. Darinka Fabiani and later continued her studies at the Conservatory for music and ballet in Ljubljana. Since 2014 she is studying at the university Mozarteum Salzburg. Her recent concert engagements feature performances at festivals like “Festival Bled”, “Festival Maribor” and many projects with the Salzburg Philharmonic Orchestra in Salzburg, Vienna, and Germany.

Bernadette Yim (top left) is currently undertaking her Masters of Music Performance with William Coleman at the Mozarteum, Salzburg. During her Bachelor and Masters studies, she has also had the opportunity of studying early music practice with Assoc. Prof. Neal Peres Da Costa, Liv Heym and Prof. Reinhard Goebel. She is currently a member of the Kontrapunkt Barockorchester in Salzburg.

Marius Malanetchi (top right) began his musical studies at the music lyceum “Ciprian Porumbescu” at the age of 10, in the class of Bella Savici. During the school years, he participated in many music competitions in Moldova, as well as in Romania, where he obtained the first prizes (Tulcea, Ploiesti, Bucharest). In October 2013 he began his studies at the Mozarteum University, in the class of Giovanni Gnocchi.